OK, now you’re motivated, how do you stay there?

Consider this:  You’re working towards your fitness goals but little by little those inspired thoughts that originally motivated you are fading.  You’ve reached a dreaded ‘plateau’… kind of a never-never land where those once-vibrant moments of clarity and purpose are now shadows of their former selves… ragged rafts cast adrift on the sea of despair.  Well, maybe it’s not quite that bad, but you get the picture.

You’re off the rails!  

Here are my thoughts:

You need to have a conversation with yourself where the main topic of discussion is your health.  IT IS the MOST important thing you have and you need to take care of it.  Be real and if you have to, have that inner voice that wants to keep going write a letter to the voice that is abandoning ship.  You know, the side that has the habit of subjugating your dreams.  Express your true feelings about what YOU really want.  Don’t wait for a miracle… see the goal… keep it in your sights… make it happen… Life is too short.

And, no more excuses.  I’m going to write a book about excuses.  They’re just that… excuses.  Whistlestops on the way to failure.

So now I’ve had my rant, what keeps you motivated?

Heather

One Comment on “OK, now you’re motivated, how do you stay there?”

  1. Marj Watt says:

    Staying motivated is always hardest. Success at the scale, or in an activity, always helps the motivation factor. One of the tenets I try to keep in my conscious brain is that everything I do, or don’t do, is a choice. I CAN eat anything I want, but do I want to make the choice to eat that cookie or not. I have to remembr that I have the power to decide even though one side of my psyche sometimes tries to undermine that power.


Leave a Reply

